‘Gotham’ Not Living Up to the Hype

gothamI’m still on the fence about ‘Gotham’. Part of me likes the show, but do I like it enough to add it to my long list of other shows? Now quite. This was one of the shows I was most looking froward to and it hasn’t really lived up to the hype. The first episode introduced the players very nicely and set the scene so neatly, but as I said before, no new information was introduced. And not really since.

Jim is fighting really hard to make Gotham a better place, but he’s finding out it’s harder than he thought it would be. This is where the intrigue comes from and Oswald coming back to Gotham helps. So there could be more suspense to come.

Right now ‘Gotham’ seems like just another crime fighting show, just in a very corrupt city.

Next week’s preview makes me think that show is going to start being more of what I envisioned. The story of how Gotham’s villains came to be and the Gotham we know came to be. Though it seems like a pretty bad place to begin with.

There could still be hope for this show after all. It’s not that it’s a bad show, it’s just not grabbing me in the way I expected it to. Each preview looks really good and then the episode falls short. Hopefully next week won’t be the same.

Here’s the preview for next week:

Leave a Reply

