Grey’s Anatomy Season 11 Premiere

10649784_10154699956245647_1131909485054450708_nI’ve been one of those people saying that ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ should be wrapping-up. I love the show, but I believe it should end before it’s gone on too long. But with this season 11 premiere, Shonda Rhimes proves there’s still life in the series.

I didn’t know what ‘Grey’s’ could look like after Cristina left. I wasn’t if sure if I believed there should be a ‘Grey’s after she left. Don’t get me wrong there are a lot of characters that I love on the show and I am very happy to have Amelia back. I loved her in ‘Private Practice’. But each character is a piece of the show and you take one away and it’s no longer whole. While Cristina’s absence is definitely felt, there was a lot of really great moments in the episode.

I really hope that Alex is going to be Meredith’s person now. I just loved that moment when Alex was telling her that Cristina left him her shares and “you”. I really don’t think Jo should worry too much about it. It was funny her freaking out, but Meredith and Alex have grown up as surgeons together. There is a bond there and it’s nothing for Jo to worry about. I mean Meredith did help them be together after the no dating rule was made. But watching Meredith kick Jo out of bed in the middle of the night was great.

All Meredith ever wanted was for Derek to choose her and now that he does she reacted weirdly. I get it. She’s probably afraid of him resenting her now. But he might not. He made this decision on his own and never felt pressured to do so. I’ve loved the Meredith and Derek story, but to keep the plot moving forward, it’s probably good to put a wedge between them. I really want the show to end or the characters to depart happily ever after. But some of the best Meredith and Derek moments is when they’ve struggled. It’s makes for a great love story.

I’m not sure how I feel about Meredith having a sister and Maggie being Richard’s daughter. While it’s not all too hard to believe, especially Ellis giving up the child, it feels like a desperate attempt to add drama to the show and keep it going. ‘Brother’s and Sisters’ kept trying to add more family secrets to keep surviving, but there just came a point where they had taken the storyline too far and that’s exactly what I don’t want to see happen with ‘Grey’s Anatomy’.  I’m enjoying the rest of the story lines, just not this one.

Check out the preview for next week. Sisters will battle it out:

Leave a Reply

