The Last Ship: A Break in the Action for Character Development

This is a much better poster than the one that is all over New York. All it has is a Navy ship and Eric Dane.

This is a much better poster than the one that is all over New York. All it has is a Navy ship and Eric Dane.

While I am an acton girl, I also love shows with great characters. I don’t feel like I am really attached to any of the characters on ‘The Last Ship’ yet, but I do feel like the writers are finally developing the characters.

The suspense didn’t stop this week, but there was a lot less action. This episode was more about in between battles and how they move forward on their journey and the problems that can and will arise along the way. It was a good little breather to really get to know the characters. Action may be exciting, but it’s good characters that are going to make a show last.

I pretty much liked Eric Dane’s character, Chandler, right from the beginning. I loved him as Mark on ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ and I was so excited when I saw he was getting his own show. From the beginning this is the character we’ve got the most development from. This week we got even more, but not just from him, Mike (Adam Baldwin), Chung (Andy T. Tran) and Dr. Scott (Rhona Mitra) were explored more this week too. We even got to see Lt. Alisha Granderson (Christina Elmore) singing at the end.

While I have to say that my mind is not made up on this show yet, I really did enjoy getting to know the characters better. I want great characters to invest my time with and these characters seem to have potential.

Leave a Reply

