The Last Ship: A lot of Action, Little Character Development

This is a much better poster than the one that is all over New York. All it has is a Navy ship and Eric Dane.

This is a much better poster than the one that is all over New York. All it has is a Navy ship and Eric Dane.

The action really started this week, but as shots were flying around, the only person I was truly worried about was Chandler and considering he’s the main character, I knew he would make it through. I don’t feel like we’ve really gotten to know enough about the other characters to get attached to them.

That would be my only complaint for this new series, that there hasn’t been enough character development yet. The action is exciting and the story line is intriguing, but what about all these characters? Who are they and why should I care about them? Because they are going to find a cure to to save the world? That’s why I should care about the story, not the characters.

Another familiar face in this new show is Tex (John Pyper-Ferguson) from ‘Brothers and Sisters’. He wasn’t one of my favorite characters on the show, especially after the divorce with Sarah, but a first glimpse at his new character made me pleasantly surprised. I don’t really know who this man is, but the fact that he’s the last man standing on Guantanamo Bay, intrigues me.

I’m hoping that next week there will be a little more character development.

Check out the preview for this new show:

Leave a Reply

