‘Game of Thrones’ Hooked Me From Episode One

Season_1_PosterFor whatever reason I was never in a hurry to watch ‘Game of Thrones’, maybe that was because it was HBO. It wasn’t the easiest show to access. But I finally sat down and watched the first season and I was very impressed with what I found.

I was told that it takes about eight episodes to get into the series, but for me I was hooked after the first episode.

The show reminded me of medieval England. I know it’s a made-up world, but it really had a feel of medieval England and that really intrigued me. The characters also really interested me and when Jamie Lannister (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau) pushed Bran Stark (Isaac Hempstead Wright) out the window, I was left with no words. I just couldn’t believe how anyone could attempt to kill a young boy just to keep their secret. It really gave a tone for what the rest of the season would be like, and maybe the series, but I haven’t got that far yet.

I loved the character development in just one season and to be able to do it in ten episodes and with so many characters is amazing. I think Dani Targaryen (Emilia Clarke) went through the biggest transformation of the season. She started as this young vulnerable girl and she ended a woman, ready to be Queen.

‘Game of Thrones’ has so much drama, intrigue and betrayal and the war hasn’t even begun yet. It makes me wonder what’s to come.

My favorite characters so far are Dani, Jon Snow (Kit Harington) and Arya Stark (Maisie Williams). Dani for her growth throughout out the first season, Jon for his loyalty, personality, braveness and lets face it, he’s just plain good looking, and Arya for her want to fight and her hatred of all girly things, but she still hates to be called a boy.

There were couple of surprising deaths in the first season, but nothing too major. I was actually happy to get rid of one of the characters.

The first season has let me enter a whole new world and I look forward to season two.

Check out the trailers for season one:

Leave a Reply

